Abbiati Prize awarded to Luca Francesconi's Quartett

The 31st Abbiati Critics' Prize awarded to the Opera commissioned by Teatro alla Scala
When Apr 16, 2012
from 12:00 AM to 12:00 AM
Add event to calendarvCal

The 31st Franco Abbiati Critics’ Prize for Best New Work in 2011 has been awarded to Luca Francesconi’s QUARTETT, the opera commissioned from the composer by the Teatro alla Scala.
The following is the statement released by the jury:
"Performed and staged in a superb manner, the score makes very effective use of the famous text by Heiner Müller, from which the composer drew the libretto.
The complex conception of the work involves a combination and interweaving of the extreme mobility of the writing for the instrumental group positioned in the orchestra pit (which installs an extremely flexible and sinewy relationship with the agile variability of the vocal inflections) and the broad sweep of the sound of the hidden, full orchestra and choir, which give voice to dimensions that are quite distinct from the “closure” of the deadly game for two played out by the protagonists."

More information about this event…